A Short History of Progress [Audiobook] download free by Ronald Wright

A Short History of Progress Audiobook download free by Ronald Wright
  • Listen audiobook: A Short History of Progress
  • Author: Ronald Wright
  • Release date: 2006/2/3
  • Language: English
  • Genre or Collection: History and Archaeology
  • ISBN: 9781841958309
  • Rating: 8.54 of 10
  • Votes: 554
  • Review by: Karla Colon
  • Review rating: 7.27 of 10
  • Review Date: 2018/10/25
  • Duration: 2H44M50S in 256 kbps (44.8 MB)
  • Date of creation of the audiobook: 2018-07-15
  • You can listen to this audiobook in formats: FLAC, MPC, WAV, MPEG4, WMA, AIFF, MP3, WMA Lossless (compression 7-ZIP, CAB, ZIP, RAR)
  • Total pages original book: 224
  • Includes a PDF summary of 23 pages
  • Duration of the summary (audio): 17M7S (4.6 MB)
  • Description or summary of the audiobook: Palaeolithic hunters who learnt how to kill two mammoths instead of one had made progress. Those who learnt how to kill 200 by driving a whole herd over a cliff had made too much. Many of the great ruins that grace the deserts and jungles of the earth are monuments to progress traps, the headstones of civilisations which fell victim to their own success. The twentieth-century's runaway growth has placed a murderous burden on the planet. A Short History of Progress argues that this modern predicament is as old as civilisation. Only by understanding the patterns of progress and disaster that humanity has repeated since the Stone Age can we recognise the inherent dangers, and, with luck, and wisdom, shape its outcome.
  • Other categories, genre or collection: General & World History, Politics & Government, Technology: General Issues
  • Download servers: Torrent, ge.tt, FreakShare, Mediafire, 4Shared. Compressed in 7-ZIP, CAB, ZIP, RAR
  • Format: Paperback
  • Approximate value: 10.29 USD
  • Dimensions: 129x198x14mm
  • Weight: 154g
  • Printed by: Not Available
  • Published in: Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Download audiobook in:

Option 1

Option 2

Option 3

Option 4

Option 5


More audiobooks of 2006

More audiobooks of the publisher CANONGATE BOOKS LTD